Ukrainian Scientists Worldwide

Українські науковці у світі

Новина тижня: Інтернет-магнати проти невиліковних хвороб. Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences

Марк Цукерберг, Сергій Брін, Юрій Мільнер  та інші потужні фігури в інтернет-бізнесі оголосили про створення нового проекту, який може позмагатися із Нобелевською премією. Це щорічна премія у 3 000 000 доларів за розробки у галузі наук про життя: Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences.

Першими переможцями стали:

  • Cornelia I. Bargmann

    Torsten N. Wiesel Professor and Head of the Lulu and Anthony Wang Laboratory of Neural Circuits and Behavior at the Rockefeller University. Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator.

    For the genetics of neural circuits and behavior, and synaptic guidepost molecules

  • David Botstein

    Director of the Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics and the Anthony B. Evnin Professor of Genomics at Princeton University.

    For linkage mapping of Mendelian disease in humans using DNA polymorphisms.

  • Lewis C. Cantley

    Margaret and Herman Sokol Professor and Director of the Cancer Center at Weill Cornell Medical College and NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital.

    For the discovery of PI 3-Kinase and its role in cancer metabolism.

  • Hans Clevers

    Professor of Molecular Genetics at Hubrecht Institute.

    For describing the role of Wnt signaling in tissue stem cells and cancer.

  • Titia de Lange

    Leon Hess Professor, Head of the Laboratory of Cell Biology and Genetics, and Director of the Anderson Center for Cancer Research at the Rockefeller University.

    For research on telomeres, illuminating how they protect chromosome ends and their role in genome instability in cancer.

  • Napoleone Ferrara

    Distinguished Professor of Pathology and Senior Deputy Director for Basic Sciences at Moores Cancer Center at the University of California, San Diego.

    For discoveries in the mechanisms of angiogenesis that led to therapies for cancer and eye diseases.

  • Eric S. Lander

    President and Founding Director of the Eli and Edythe L. Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT. Professor of Biology at MIT. Professor of Systems Biology at Harvard Medical School.

    For the discovery of general principles for identifying human disease genes, and enabling their application to medicine through the creation and analysis of genetic, physical and sequence maps of the human genome.

  • Charles L. Sawyers

    Chair, Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator.

    For cancer genes and targeted therapy.

  • Bert Vogelstein

    Director of the Ludwig Center and Clayton Professor of Oncology and Pathology at the Johns Hopkins Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center. Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator.

    For cancer genomics and tumor suppressor genes.

  • Robert A. Weinberg

    Daniel K. Ludwig Professor for Cancer Research at MIT and Director of the MIT/Ludwig Center for Molecular Oncology. Member, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research.

    For characterization of human cancer genes.

  • Shinya Yamanaka

    Director of Center for iPS Cell Research and Application, Kyoto University. Senior Investigator, Gladstone Institutes, San Francisco.

    For induced pluripotent stem cells.

Views: 485


You need to be a member of Ukrainian Scientists Worldwide to add comments!

Join Ukrainian Scientists Worldwide

Comment by Ростислав Скляр on February 21, 2013 at 10:14pm

Щось воно надзвичайно нетрадиційно: на момент оголошення вже є лауреативони ж і складають комітет, коли й номінації невідомі!

© 2018   Created by Khalavka Yuriy (Халавка Юрій).   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service